H.Con. Res. 15 – Urge Rep. Hunter to support an investigation into Russian hacking

H.Con. Res. 15 – Urge Rep. Hunter to support an investigation into Russian hacking

This Concurrent Resolution speaks for itself, so I encourage you to read it (https://www.congress.gov/bill/115th-congress/house-concurrent-resolution/15/text). This Concurrent Resolution is an easy read, does not require any specialized knowledge and is not too long. So, if you have not read a bill, resolution or law before – this would be a great one to make your first.

Con. Res. 15, which stands for House Concurrent Resolution 15, lists the various events & statements on the issue of Russian hacking in such a succinct manner that it brings into sharp relief the severity of this issue, which given the lightning pace of events can become obscured at times.

(Quick note, I know that my civics knowledge is far more meager than I would prefer, so I have been brushing up and learning as we go. This is a great opportunity to learn a little bit about Congress; for example, H. Con. Res. 15, is a concurrent resolution, which means even if both Chambers signed it, it would never become a law. A concurrent resolution is a non-legally binding statement; for the definitions of a bill and the three kinds of resolutions (joint, concurrent and simple) go to: http://www.house.gov/content/learn/legislative_process/ Or https://www.lexisnexis.com/help/CU/Serial_Set/About_Bills.htm).

And finally, the indivisible member, Carolyn McGraw, whose voice we are amplifying has allowed me to share the letter she wrote Rep. Hunter. I found it inspirational and I hope you do too.

“Dear Congressman Hunter,

I have just read H. CON. RES. 15:

“Asserting that Congress should expend the resources necessary to investigate thoroughly the nature and extent of Russian interference in the 2016 presidential election, including whether there was collusion between persons associated with the Russian government and persons associated with the presidential campaign of Donald J. Trump to influence the outcome of the election.”

When this bill comes before Congress I ask you vote “Yes.”  In light of yesterday’s news concerning Mr. Flynn’s contact with Russian officials, this is a most important Resolution and I ask you give it due consideration.

I am the daughter of Captain R.L. Warner of the U.S. Navy.  My father fought in three wars, WWII, Korea and Vietnam.  I know those of you who have fought to protect our nation from foreign aggression must find evidence of Russian intervention into our citizens right to vote without foreign interference of utmost importance to our national security.

It is imperative that you, a former member of the U.S. Military, stand as a proud protector of our nation and vote to allocate funds to investigate the nature and extent of Russian interference in our presidential election.

Congressman, you and I have philosophical differences.  However, I am sure that upon this issue we can agree.  With mounting evidence that Russia has successfully interfered in the 2016 election and has corrupted our sacred Democracy, we must pursue an investigation and discover the truth.

I thank you for your gracious correspondence in the past and look forward to finding common ground in the future.  I know you to be a committed defender of our Democracy and look forward to hearing your position on this issue.

All the best,

Carolyn McGraw”

